Academic Senate

About the Committee

10+1

Recognition of Academic Senate 10 + 1

Academic and professional matters means the following policy development and implementation matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing pre-requisites and placing courses with in disciplines;
  2. Degree and certificate requirements;
  3. Grading policies;
  4. Educational program development;
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success;
  6. District and College governance structures, as related to faculty roles;
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports;
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities;
  9. Processes for program review;
  10. Process for institutional planning and budget development; and
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the Governing Board and Academic Senates.

Goals

  1. Ensure active faculty participation in developing processes and procedures that impact Academic Senate purview and responsibilities.
  2. Address issues that are impeding the approval and renewal of curriculum to meet Title 5 and ACCJC compliance. For example: staff and faculty involvement in committee work, encourage faculty training.
  3. Increase faculty participation in college governance activities, in particular curriculum and program review.
  4. Continue to ensure the Academic Senate effectively fulfills its defined role in the accreditation process in #7 of the 10+1 “academic and professional matters,” which addresses “faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports.” in an effort to embed accreditation into the culture of the college.

Charge/Scope

The Senate is the sole voice of the faculty and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees or designee with respect to academic and professional matters [10+1]. District board policy states that the Board of Trustees shall rely primarily upon the recommendations of the Senate in these areas.

Rely primarily means:

  • Recommendations of the senate will normally be accepted
  • Only in exceptional circumstances and for compelling reasons will the recommendations not be accepted
  • If not accepted, board/designee shall communicate its reasons in writing, if requested (see Title 5.3 §53200)

Role/Purpose

The purpose of the Academic Senate is to provide the means to represent faculty in the formation and implementation of policy on academic and professional matters.

In implementing policies, the Senate will represent the Academic Senate to the President of the College and to the Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters and exercise powers granted by the California Education Code and the Board of Governors.

The Senate shall assume primary responsibility in the areas of curriculum and academic standards as specified in the California Education Code.

Awards

Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award

» Levinson Award Recipient List

» About the Award

Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award

Tom Greenwood

Tom Greenwood, 2014-15 Shirley Trembley Co-Winner

Jeannie Parent

Jeannie Parent, 2014-15 Shirley Trembley Co-Winner

» Trembley Award Recipient List

» About the Award

» Award Guidelines

Nominations & Timeline

 

News/Announcements

 

Academic Senate Office Contact Information

Administration Building, Room 4
1801 Panorama Dr.
Bakersfield College

Phone: (661) 395-4300

Fax: (661) 395-4373

Tarina Perry, Administrative Secretary

Hours:
Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm


 

Members

Please select from the following:

Officers/Executive Board Members

Title Name Email Ext.
President
(2 yr term, ends Spring 2017)
Steven Holmes sholmes@bakerfieldcollege.edu 4289
Vice-President 
(1 year term, ends Spring 2016)
Andrea Thorson athorson@bakersfieldcollege.edu" 4216
Secretary
(1 year term, ends Spring 2016)
VACANT    
Treasurer
(1 year term, ends Spring 2016)
Charles Kim charles.kim@bakersfieldcollege.edu 2017
ASCCC Rep.
(2 year term ends Sp. 2017)
Tom Greenwood tgreenwo@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4229
Member at Large Lisa Harding lharding@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4389
Administrative Secretary Tarina Perry tperry@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4300
Accreditation (AIQ) Co-Chair
(3 year term, ends Spring 2016)
Kate Pluta kpluta@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4531
Curriculum Committee Co-Chairs
(2 year term, ends Spring 2016)
Billie Jo Rice brice@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4936
John Carpenter jcarpent@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4294
Equal Opportunity & Diversity Advisory Committee Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Bryan Hirayama bryan.hirayama@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4611
Information Systems & Instructional Technology (ISIT) Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2016)
Richard Marquez rmarquez@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4217
Program Review Committee Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Kimberly Nickell knickell@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4654
Professional Development Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
John Giertz jgiertz@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4544

Fall 2014-Spring 2016

Department Name Email Ext.
Adjunct Representative Denise Norris denise.norris@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4404
Allied Health Marsha Eggman meggman@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4467
Biology Chad Newton cnewton@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4085
BMIT Greg Chamberlain gchamber@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4875
Communication A. Todd Jones atjones@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4406
English Neal Stanifer nstanife@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4264
ESL Susan McQuerrey smcquerr@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4587
Health & P.E. Reggie Bolton jbolton@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4359
Industrial Technology Klint Rigby krigby@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4579
Math VACANT    
Performing Arts Robbie Martinez robby@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4546
Philosophy Anna Poetker apoetker@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4367
Physical Science Dan Kimball dkimball@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4242
Student Services Faculty Kathy Rosellini kroselli@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4618

Fall 2013-Spring 2015

Department Name Email Ext.
Academic Development Joyce Kirst jkirst@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4464
Agriculture Bill Kelly wkelly@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4097
Art Kris Stallworth kstallwo@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4206
Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice Christian Zoller czoller@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4484
English Laura Peet lpeet@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4644
Family & Consumer Education Gayla Anderson gaanders@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4815
Foreign Language/ASL Tom Moran tmoran@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4537
Industrial Technology Ron Grays rgrays@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4368
Library Anna Agenjo aagenjo@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4463
Math Kurt Klopstein kklopste@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4624
Nursing Ronnie Knabe rknabe@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4287
Social Science Ishmael Kimbrough ikimbrou@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4524

Other Committee Chairs

Title Name Email Ext.
Assessment Coordinator
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
David Neville dneville@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4291
Equivalency Committee Michael Ivey mivey@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4363
Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award Becky Head rhead@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4050
Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award Nick Strobel nstrobel@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4618

Duties of Members

Check back soon!