Academic Senate

About the Committee


Recognition of Academic Senate 10 + 1

Academic and professional matters means the following policy development and implementation matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing pre-requisites and placing courses with in disciplines;
  2. Degree and certificate requirements;
  3. Grading policies;
  4. Educational program development;
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success;
  6. District and College governance structures, as related to faculty roles;
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports;
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities;
  9. Processes for program review;
  10. Process for institutional planning and budget development; and
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the Governing Board and Academic Senates.


  1. Ensure active faculty participation in developing processes and procedures that impact Academic Senate purview and responsibilities.
  2. Address issues that are impeding the approval and renewal of curriculum to meet Title 5 and ACCJC compliance. For example: staff and faculty involvement in committee work, encourage faculty training.
  3. Increase faculty participation in college governance activities, in particular curriculum and program review.
  4. Continue to ensure the Academic Senate effectively fulfills its defined role in the accreditation process in #7 of the 10+1 “academic and professional matters,” which addresses “faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports.” in an effort to embed accreditation into the culture of the college.


The Senate is the sole voice of the faculty and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees or designee with respect to academic and professional matters [10+1]. District board policy states that the Board of Trustees shall rely primarily upon the recommendations of the Senate in these areas.

Rely primarily means:

  • Recommendations of the senate will normally be accepted
  • Only in exceptional circumstances and for compelling reasons will the recommendations not be accepted
  • If not accepted, board/designee shall communicate its reasons in writing, if requested (see Title 5.3 §53200)


The purpose of the Academic Senate is to provide the means to represent faculty in the formation and implementation of policy on academic and professional matters.

In implementing policies, the Senate will represent the Academic Senate to the President of the College and to the Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters and exercise powers granted by the California Education Code and the Board of Governors.

The Senate shall assume primary responsibility in the areas of curriculum and academic standards as specified in the California Education Code.


Check back soon!


Check back soon!


Check back soon!

Academic Senate Office Contact Information

Administration Building, Room 4
1801 Panorama Dr.
Bakersfield College

Phone: (661) 395-4300

Fax: (661) 395-4373

Tarina Perry, Administrative Secretary

Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm



Please select from the following:

Officers/Executive Board Members

Title Name Email Ext.
President Steven Holmes 4289
Vice-President Andrea Thorson" 4216
Secretary Wesley Sims <4583/td>
Treasurer Charles Kim 2017
(2 year term ends Sp. 2015)
Member at Large Lisa Harding 4389
Administrative Secretary Tarina Perry 4300
Accreditation (AIQ) Co-Chair
(Term expires 05/17)
Kate Pluta 4531
Curriculum Committee Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/16)
Billie Jo Rice 4936
John Carpenter 4294
Equal Opportunity & Diversity Advisory Committee Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/15)
Bryan Hirayama 4611
Information Systems & Instructional Technology (ISIT) Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/16)
Richard Marquez 4217
Program Review Committee Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/15)
Kate Pluta 4531
Staff Development Coordinating Council (SDCC) Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/15)
John Giertz 4544

Fall 2014-Spring 2016

Department Name Email Ext.
Adjunct Representative Denise Norris 4404
Allied Health Marsha Eggman 4467
Biology Chad Newton 4085
BMIT Greg Chamberlain 4875
Communication A. Todd Jones 4406
English Neal Stanifer 4264
ESL/EMS Jeannie Parent 4543
Health & P.E. Reggie Bolton 4359
Industrial Technology Klint Rigby 4579
Math Janet Tarjan 4248
Performing Arts VACANT    
Philosophy Anna Poetker 4367
Physical Science VACANT    
Student Services Faculty Kathy Rosellini 4618

Fall 2013-Spring 2015

Department Name Email Ext.
Academic Development Joyce Kirst 4464
Agriculture Bill Kelly 4097
Art Kris Stallworth 4206
Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice Christian Zoller 4484
English Jennifer Jett 4524
Family & Consumer Education Gayla Anderson 4815
Foreign Language/ASL David Neville 4252
Industrial Technology Ron Grays 4368
Library Nancy Guidry 4682
Math Maria Perrone 4557
Nursing Alicia Loken 4757
Social Science Ishmael Kimbrough 4524

Other Committee Chairs

Title Name Email Ext.
Assessment Coordinator
(Term expires 5/15)
John Carpenter 4294
Equivalency Committee Michael Ivey 4363
Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award Becky Head 4050
Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award Kathy Rosellini 4618

Duties of Members

Check back soon!