Academic Senate

Academic Senate

About the Committee

10+1

Recognition of Academic Senate 10 + 1

Academic and professional matters means the following policy development and implementation matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing pre-requisites and placing courses with in disciplines;
  2. Degree and certificate requirements;
  3. Grading policies;
  4. Educational program development;
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success;
  6. District and College governance structures, as related to faculty roles;
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports;
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities;
  9. Processes for program review;
  10. Process for institutional planning and budget development; and
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the Governing Board and Academic Senates.

Goals

  1. Focus on improving Student Success.
  1. Develop a process for the determination of appropriate class sizes.
  1. Foster a sense of community and improve collegial consultation & communication in college and district communities.
  1. Embed Accreditation, Assessment, Curriculum, Equity and Program Review into the culture of the college.
  1. Develop and focus on processes regarding new initiatives including Pathways & Dual Enrollment.

Charge/Scope

The Senate is the sole voice of the faculty and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees or designee with respect to academic and professional matters [10+1]. District board policy states that the Board of Trustees shall rely primarily upon the recommendations of the Senate in these areas.

Rely primarily means:

  • Recommendations of the senate will normally be accepted
  • Only in exceptional circumstances and for compelling reasons will the recommendations not be accepted
  • If not accepted, board/designee shall communicate its reasons in writing, if requested (see Title 5.3 §53200)

Role/Purpose

The purpose of the Academic Senate is to provide the means to represent faculty in the formation and implementation of policy on academic and professional matters.

In implementing policies, the Senate will represent the Academic Senate to the President of the College and to the Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters and exercise powers granted by the California Education Code and the Board of Governors.

The Senate shall assume primary responsibility in the areas of curriculum and academic standards as specified in the California Education Code.

Policies/Procedures


Awards

» About the Awards

Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award

Jennifer Johnson

Jennifer Johnson, 2015-16 recipient

» Levinson Award Recipient List

» About the Award

» Award Guidelines

Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award

Kenward Vaughan

Kenward Vaughan, 2015-16 Recipient

» Trembley Award Recipient List

» About the Award

» Award Guidelines

Nominations & Timeline

 

News/Announcements

Senate Rostrum

Board of Governors Nominations: Nominations will close no later than Dec. 31.

C-ID Newsletter

 

 

Academic Senate Office Contact Information

Administration Building, Room 4
1801 Panorama Dr.
Bakersfield College

Phone: (661) 395-4300

Fax: (661) 395-4373

Tarina Perry, Administrative Secretary

Hours:
Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm


 

Members

Please select from the following:

Officers/Executive Board Members

Title Name Email Ext.
President
(2 yr term, ends Spring 2017)
Steven Holmes sholmes@bakerfieldcollege.edu 4289
Vice-President 
(1 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Andrea Thorson athorson@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4216
Secretary
(1 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Matt Garrett matgarre@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4586
Treasurer
(1 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Charles Kim charles.kim@bakersfieldcollege.edu 2017
ASCCC Rep.
(2 year term ends Sp. 2017)
Deborah Rosenthal deborah.rosenthal@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4404
Member at Large Lisa Harding lharding@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4389
Administrative Secretary Tarina Perry tperry@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4300
Accreditation (AIQ) Co-Chair
(3 year term, ends Spring 2019)
Mark Staller

mstaller@bakersfieldcollege.edu

4499
Curriculum Committee Co-Chairs
(2 year term, ends Spring 2018)
Jennifer Johnson jlwilson@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4372
Bill Moseley bmoseley@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4741
Equal Opportunity & Diversity Advisory Committee Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Bryan Hirayama bryan.hirayama@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4611
Information Systems & Instructional Technology (ISIT) Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2018)
Richard Marquez rmarquez@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4217
Pam Boyles pboyles@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4489
Program Review Committee Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
Kimberly Nickell knickell@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4654
Professional Development Co-Chair
(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)
John Giertz jgiertz@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4544

Assessment Coordinator

(2 year term, ends Spring 2017)

Dianthe "Di" Hoffman dianthe.hoffman@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4282

Enrollment Management Co-Chair

(2 year term, ends Spring 2018)

David Koeth dkoeth@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4674

Fall 2016-Spring 2018

Department Name Email Ext.
Adjunct Representative Timothy Burke timothy.burke1@bakersfieldcollege.edu  
Allied Health Sarah Baron sarah.baron@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4447
Biology Chad Newton cnewton@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4085
BMIT Phil Whtiney

pwhitney@bakersfieldcollege.edu

4042
Communication A. Todd Jones atjones@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4406
English Neal Stanifer nstanife@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4264
ESL Susan McQuerrey smcquerr@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4587
Health & P.E. Carl Dean cdean@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4265
Industrial Technology Klint Rigby krigby@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4579
Math Michael Frdenberg michael.fredenberg@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4244
Performing Arts Robby Martinez robby@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4546
Philosophy Reggie Williams rwilliam@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4439
Physical Science Dan Kimball dkimball@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4242
Student Services Faculty Victor Diaz vicdiaz@bakersfieldcollege.edu  4052

Fall 2015-Spring 2017

Department Name Email Ext.
Academic Development Joyce Kirst jkirst@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4464
Agriculture Bill Kelly wkelly@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4097
Art Kris Stallworth kstallwo@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4206
Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice Christian Zoller czoller@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4484
English Laura Peet lpeet@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4644
Family & Consumer Education Gayla Anderson gaanders@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4815
Foreign Language/ASL Qiu Jimenez yqiu@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4292
Industrial Technology Ron Grays rgrays@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4368
Library Anna Agenjo aagenjo@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4463
Math Kurt Klopstein kklopste@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4624
Nursing Alisha Loken aloken@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4420
Social Science Ishmael Kimbrough ikimbrou@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4524

Other Committee Chairs

Title Name Email Ext.
Equivalency Committee Michael Ivey mivey@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4363
Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award Becky Head rhead@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4050
Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award Nick Strobel nstrobel@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4526

Duties of Members

Check back soon!

 

Committee History