Academic Senate

About the Committee

Goals

  1. Ensure active faculty participation in developing processes and procedures that impact Academic Senate purview and responsibilities.
  2. Address issues that are impeding the approval and renewal of curriculum to meet Title 5 and ACCJC compliance. For example: staff and faculty involvement in committee work, encourage faculty training.
  3. Increase faculty participation in college governance activities, in particular curriculum and program review.
  4. Continue to ensure the Academic Senate effectively fulfills its defined role in the accreditation process in #7 of the 10+1 “academic and professional matters,” which addresses “faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports.” in an effort to embed accreditation into the culture of the college.

Charge/Scope

The Senate is the sole voice of the faculty and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees or designee with respect to academic and professional matters [10+1]. District board policy states that the Board of Trustees shall rely primarily upon the recommendations of the Senate in these areas.

Rely primarily means:

  • Recommendations of the senate will normally be accepted
  • Only in exceptional circumstances and for compelling reasons will the recommendations not be accepted
  • If not accepted, board/designee shall communicate its reasons in writing, if requested (see Title 5.3 §53200)

Role/Purpose

The purpose of the Academic Senate is to provide the means to represent faculty in the formation and implementation of policy on academic and professional matters.

In implementing policies, the Senate will represent the Academic Senate to the President of the College and to the Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters and exercise powers granted by the California Education Code and the Board of Governors.

The Senate shall assume primary responsibility in the areas of curriculum and academic standards as specified in the California Education Code.

Other Information

This committee communicates with:

  • Faculty
  • College/District Administration
  • Board of Trustees

Members

Please select from the following groups:

Officers/Executive Board Members

Title Name Email Ext.
President Steven Holmes sholmes@bakerfieldcollege.edu 4289
Vice-President Andrea Thorson athorson@bakersfieldcollege.edu" 4216
Secretary Wesley Sims wsims@bakersfieldcollege.edu <4583/td>
Treasurer Charles Kim charles.kim@bakersfieldcollege.edu 2017
ASCCC Rep.
(2 year term ends Sp. 2015)
Vacant    
Member at Large Lisa Harding lharding@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4389
Administrative Secretary Tarina Perry tperry@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4300
Accreditation (AIQ) Co-Chair
(Term expires 05/17)
Kate Pluta kpluta@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4531
Curriculum Committee Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/16)
Billie Jo Rice brice@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4936
John Carpenter jcarpent@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4294
Equal Opportunity & Diversity Advisory Committee Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/15)
Bryan Hirayama bryan.hirayama@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4611
Information Systems & Instructional Technology (ISIT) Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/16)
Richard Marquez rmarquez@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4217
Program Review Committee Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/15)
Kate Pluta kpluta@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4531
Staff Development Coordinating Council (SDCC) Co-Chair
(Term expires 5/15)
John Giertz jgiertz@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4544

Fall 2014-Spring 2016

Department Name Email Ext.
Adjunct Representative Denise Norris denise.norris@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4404
Allied Health Marsha Eggman meggman@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4467
Biology Chad Newton cnewton@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4085
BMIT Greg Chamberlain gchamber@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4875
Communication A. Todd Jones atjones@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4406
English Neal Stanifer nstanife@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4264
ESL/EMS Jeannie Parent jparent@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4543
Health & P.E. Reggie Bolton jbolton@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4359
Industrial Technology Klint Rigby krigby@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4579
Math Janet Tarjan jwtarjan@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4248
Performing Arts VACANT    
Philosophy Anna Poetker apoetker@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4367
Physical Science VACANT    
Student Services Faculty Kathy Rosellini kroselli@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4618

Fall 2013-Spring 2015

Department Name Email Ext.
Academic Development Joyce Kirst jkirst@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4464
Agriculture Bill Kelly wkelly@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4097
Art Kris Stallworth kstallwo@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4206
Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice Christian Zoller czoller@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4484
English Jennifer Jett jjett@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4524
Family & Consumer Education Gayla Anderson gaanders@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4815
Foreign Language/ASL David Neville danevill@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4252
Industrial Technology Ron Grays rgrays@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4368
Library Nancy Guidry nguidry@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4682
Math Maria Perrone mperrone@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4557
Nursing Alicia Loken aloken@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4757
Social Science Ishmael Kimbrough ikimbrou@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4524

Other Committee Chairs

Title Name Email Ext.
Assessment Coordinator
(Term expires 5/15)
John Carpenter jcarpent@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4294
Equivalency Committee Michael Ivey mivey@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4363
Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award Becky Head rhead@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4050
Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award Kathy Rosellini kroselli@bakersfieldcollege.edu 4618