Equivalency Committee

About the Committee

Charge/Scope

Charge

To fulfill the requirement of Ed. Code § 87359 that every district must have an equivalency process by which the governing board reaches its determination regarding faculty members’ possessing qualifications that are at least equivalent to the minimum qualifications for a particular discipline. Once the local equivalency process has reached a recommendation regarding an individual applicant, Ed. Code § 87359(a) requires that the governing board include action on the equivalency as part of its subsequent hiring action.

Scope

E.C. § 87359

Role/Purpose

To determine if an applicant's qualifications are the equivalent of the Minimum Qualifications for Faculty in California Community Colleges

Other Information

This committee communicates with:


Members

Composition

  • 5 faculty reps (1 dept chair & 1 EODAC member)
  • Exec VP Academic Affairs

Chairs

Name Email
Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg ngomez@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Mike Ivey mivey@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Members

Name Email Department
Andrea Garrison agarriso@bakersfieldcollege.edu Biology
Brenda Freaney bfreaney@bakersfieldcollege.edu Engineering
Jennifer Johnson jlwilson@bakersfieldcollege.edu Nursing
Kimberly Van Horne kvan@bakersfieldcollege.edu Academic Development
Lora Larkin llarkin@bakersfieldcollege.edu Behavioral Science
Murad Zikri mzikri@bakersfieldcollege.edu BMIT
Pam Kelley pkelley@bakersfieldcollege.edu Health/PE
Sheena Bhogal sbhogal@bakersfieldcollege.edu English

Meeting Times

2nd Thursday of the Month, 1 pm

Last Meeting

Equivalency Committee Meeting - March 13th, 2015 Supporting Documents: