Equivalency Committee

About the Committee

Charge

Every district must have an equivalency process. Education code §87359 (b) requires that “[t]he process, as well as criteria, and standards by which the governing board reaches its determination regarding faculty members shall be developed and agreed upon jointly by representatives of the governing board and the academic senate, and approved by the governing board.” While neither the Education code nor title 5 Regulations provide additional guidelines for what constitutes at least equivalent, each district’s governing board, acting on the advice of its academic senate, must establish its standard for equivalency, permitted the standard is not less than qualifications specified on the Disciplines list. Once the local equivalency process has reached a recommendation regarding an individual applicant, Education code §87359(a) requires that the governing board include action on the equivalency as part of its subsequent hiring action.

 

Scope

E.C. § 87359

 

Role/Purpose

To determine if an applicant's qualifications are the equivalent of the Minimum Qualifications for Faculty in California Community Colleges

 

This committee reports to:

The Webmaster for Equivalency Committee is Michael Ivey, mivey@bakersfieldcollege.edu


Members

Composition

  • Chaired by Vice President of Instruction (or Presidential designee) /and a Faculty Chair;
  • Membership: At least 5 faculty representatives but no more than 7 with at least one representative from a career and technical area (CTE);
  • Guest: Department chair (or designee) from the discipline under consideration as a voting member for the discipline applicant.

 

Chairs

Name Email
Cindy Collier ccollier@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Michael Ivey mivey@bakersfieldcollege.edu

 

Members

Academic Development

Name Email Department
Sheena Bhogal sbhogal@bakersfieldcollege.edu English
Kimberly Bligh kvan@Bakersfieldcollege.edu Academic Development
Andrea Garrison agarriso@bakersfieldcollege.edu Biology
Pam Kelley pkelley@bakersfieldcollege.edu Health/PE
Lora Larkin llarkin@bakersfieldcollege.edu Behavioral Science
Julie Lowe jlowe@bakersfieldcollege.edu Chemistry
Vic Posey vposey@bakersfieldcollege,edu Engineering and Industrial Technology
Murad Zikri mzikri@bakersfieldcollege.edu Business Management and Information Technology