Equal Opportunity & Diversity Advisory Council (EODAC)

About the Committee

Goals

We are in the process of updating our goals to reflect Bakersfield College's current College Goals:

Bakersfield College Goals

  1. Student Success: Become an exemplary model of student success by developing and implementing best practices.
  2. Professional Development: Provide relevant, timely professional growth opportunities to enhance the effectiveness of our employees and institution.
  3. Communication: Enhance collaboration, consultation, and communication within the college and with external constituents.
  4. Facilities/Infrastructure: Improve maintenance of college facilities and infrastructure.
  5. Oversight & Accountability: Improve oversight, accountability, sustainability, and transparency in all college processes.
  6. Integration: Implement and evaluate existing major planning processes.

Charge/Scope/Role/Purpose

  • To educate and orient the college on diversity issues and concerns and to assist the Affirmative Action Officer in helping the college to achieve and maintain its hiring goal of having a diverse staff and faculty who mirror the communities that the college serves.
  • To orient job screening committees for the purpose of ensuring that the screening process is in compliance with the approved affirmative action procedures in an effort to include historically under-represented groups, the EODAC representatives monitor the preparation and execution of all steps in the screening process.

Monitoring of the screening process includes but is not limited to job announcements, advertisement, evaluation of applicant pools, screening of applications, assurance of confidentiality, discussions of job applicants, final stages of hiring recommendations, and participation in performance evaluations.

To educate & orient the college on diversity issues & concerns and to assist the Affirmative Action Officer in helping the college to achieve and maintain its hiring goal of having a diverse staff and faculty who mirror the communities that the college serves.

This committee communicates with:


Members

Composition

  • Co-chaired by: Dean of Students, Faculty Representative
  • 6 admin reps
  • 22 Academic Senate reps (21 department, 1 adjunct)
  • 7 classified
  • 1 SGA

Chairs

Click Chair Duties for more details on the role of the committee chair.

Name Email
Bryan Hirayama bryan.hirayama@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Victoria Coffee

vcoffee@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Lesley Bonds lesley.bonds@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Members

Name Email
Sokha Song sokha.song@kccd.edu
Shohreh Rahman srahman@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Lesley Bonds lesley.bonds@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Fabiola Johnson fabiola.johnson@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Antonio Alfaro analfaro@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Karimeh Amin kamin@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Dena Rhoades drrhoades@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Manuel Rosas mrosas@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Bonita Lopez bolopez@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Primavera Arvizu

prarvizu@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Gamaliel Ocampo gamaliel.ocampo@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Oliver Rosales orosales@bakersfieldcolleg.edu
Paula Parks pparks@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Jonathan Schultz jonathan.schultz@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Terri Goldstein terri.goldstein@bakersfieldcollege.edu

 

Meeting Times

Third Friday of Every Month

Last Meeting

Equal Opportunity & Diversity Advisory Council (EODAC) Meeting - November 17th, 2017