Curriculum Committee

2017-2018 Curriculum Committee Members

About the Committee

Goals

  1. Provide the knowledge and training necessary to accomplish the approval and renewal of curriculum.
    • Linked to Academic Senate Goals 1, 2, 3, 4
    • Linked to BC Strategic Direction 1, 2, 4, 5
  2. Address process issues that are relevant to the approval and renewal of curriculum.
    • Linked to Academic Senate Goals 1, 2, 3, 4
    • Linked to BC Strategic Direction 1, 2, 4, 5
  3. Address technological issues that are relevant to the approval and renewal of curriculum.
    • Linked to Academic Senate Goals 1, 2, 3, 4
    • Linked to BC Strategic Direction 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Role/Purpose

To ensure that the curriculum is consistent with the mission of the college, address the needs of students and the community, and meet the requirements of laws and regulations. The curriculum includes programs of study as well as individual courses. It must support strong transfer and vocational programs and include a strong general education program as the foundation upon which students will build.

Charge

The Curriculum Committee is a standing governance committee that functions as a vital subcommittee of the Academic Senate. The primary purpose of this committee is to ensure that curriculum is consistent with the mission of the college, addresses the needs of students and the community, and meets the requirements of law and regulation. Curriculum includes programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses. As such, it must support strong transfer and vocational programs and include a strong general education program as the foundation upon which students will build.

Committee Tasks

  1. Oversees origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum, including all elements of both programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses in an ongoing systematic review process.
  2. Independently evaluates requests for prerequisites and advisories in accordance with Title 5 regulation.
  3. Independently evaluates requests for Distant Education in accordance with Title 5 regulation.
  4. Evaluates requests for General Education and articulation.
  5. Develops and implements procedures to assure an effective means of facilitating the curriculum review process while adhering to the requirements of law and regulation.

Scope

Faculty has primary responsibility for the origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum in accordance with the mission of the college. In accordance with the requirements of the Brown Act, all Curriculum Committee agendas will be publicly posted 72 hours prior to regularly scheduled meetings. Recommendations for approved curriculum will be forwarded to the Kern Community College District Board of Trustees. Curriculum approved by the Board of Trustees will be forwarded to California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office.

Other Information

This committee communicates with:

* Communicates regular updates through the CurricUNET website, maintaining clear communication channels with the college community.


 

Members

Chairs

Name Email
Liz Rozell
mrozell@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Jennifer Johnson jwilson@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Erica Menchaca erica.menchaca@bakersfieldcollege.edu
   

Members

Department Name Email
Academic Services Assistant Sharon Bush sharon.bush@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Administrator Liz Rozell  
Administrator    
Administrator    
Articulation Officer Mark Osea  
Assessment Co-chair Di Hoffman  
Adjunct Representative Carol Shertzer  
Academic Development Jennifer Rachal  
Agriculture Lindsay Ono lono@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Allied Health Jacy Hill  
Art David Koeth  
Behavioral Science Christian Zoller  
Biological Sciences Steven Tavoni  
Business Mgt/Info. Tech. Creighton Magers cmagers@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Communications    
Engineering/Industrial Tech. Patrick Aderhold patrick.aderhold@bakersfieldcollege.edu
English Shane Jett  
English for Multicultural Students Jeannie Parent jparent@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Family & Consumer Education Bernadette Towns  
Fire Technology Christine Harker  
Foreign Language/ASL    
Health & Physical Education Carl Dean cdean@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Library Laura Luiz  
Mathematics David Meyers  
Nursing Lisa Harding  
Performing Arts Kris Tiner  
Philosophy Bryan Russell  bryan.russell@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Physical Science Mike Daniel mdaniel@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Social Science Misty Stowers  
Student Government Association Mustafa Barraj  
Student Services Marisa Marquez  
Member-at-large Jamal Wright  
Member-at-large Nick Strobel nstrobel@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Member-at-large    

Files & Documents

Content Review

AD-T/C-ID

 

Meeting Times

Thursdays, twice a month, 2:30-4 p.m. Ext. 4068

Next Meeting

Curriculum Committee Meeting - October 19th, 2017

Last Meeting

Curriculum Committee Meeting - October 5th, 2017 Supporting Documents: