Curriculum Committee

2017-2018 Curriculum Committee Members

About the Committee


The Curriculum Committee is a standing governance committee that functions as a vital subcommittee of the Academic Senate. The primary purpose of this committee is to ensure that curriculum is consistent with the mission of the college, addresses the needs of students and the community, and meets the requirements of law and regulation. Curriculum includes programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses. As such, it must support strong transfer and vocational programs and include a strong general education program as the foundation upon which students will build.

  • Oversees origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum, including all elements of both programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses in an ongoing systematic review process.
  • Independently evaluates requests for prerequisites and advisories in accordance with Title 5 regulation.
  • Independently evaluates requests for Distant Education in accordance with Title 5 regulation.
  • Evaluates requests for General Education and articulation.
  • Develops and implements procedures to assure an effective means of facilitating the curriculum review process while adhering to the requirements of law and regulation.

The Curriculum Committee Charge document was reviewed and approved on December 2, 2016.


Info! Clicking the link opens and closes this section.
Scope of Authority

Faculty has primary responsibility for the origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum in accordance with the mission of the college. In accordance with the requirements of the Brown Act, all Curriculum Committee agendas will be publicly posted 72 hours prior to regularly scheduled meetings. Recommendations for approved curriculum will be forwarded to the Kern Community College District Board of Trustees. Curriculum approved by the Board of Trustees will be forwarded to California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office.


Reports To

The Curriculum Committee reports to the Academic Senate Executive Board and the Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs.


Communicates With

The Curriculum Committee communicates regularly with faculty through Curriculum Committee representatives, Academic Senate, College Council, and the Faculty Chairs and Deans Council.



The committee is co-chaired by the Vice President of Instruction and 2 Faculty Representatives (2yr-term).

  • Two administrative representatives
  • Articulation Officer
  • 27 Academic Senate representatives (24 department reps and 3 members-at-large)
    • Unrepresented department positions will fall to the department chair
  • Assessment co-chair(s)(liaison, non voting member (s))
  • One Student Government Association Representative




Role Name
Vice President, Instruction Billie Jo Rice (delegate)
Faculty Co-Chair Jennifer Johnson
Faculty Co-Chair Erica Menchaca


Role Name
Administrative Rep VACANT
Administrative Rep VACANT


Role Name
Articulation Officer VACANT

Academic Senate Representatives

Role Name
Academic Development VACANT
Agriculture Matt Riley
Allied Health VACANT
Art David Koeth
Behavioral Sciences/Criminal Justice Karin Young-Gomez
Business Management & Information Technology Creighton Magers
Communication VACANT
Engineering Systems VACANT
English Shane Jett
English for Multilingual Students VACANT
Family & Consumer Education Bernadette Towns
Fire Technology Christine Harker (Program Representative)
Foreign Language/American Sign Language Sarah Palasch
Health & Physical Education Carl Dean
Industrial Technology VACANT
Library VACANT
Mathematics VACANT
Nursing VACANT
Performing Arts Kris Tiner
Philosophy Bryan Russell
Physical Science William Michael Daniel
Social Science VACANT
Student Services Marisa Marquez (Counseling)
Member-At-Large Angelica Vasquez (Counseling)
Member-At-Large Nick Strobel (Physical Science)
Member-At-Large Brynn Schock (Social Science)
Adjunct Representative VACANT


Role Name
Assessment Faculty Co-Chair Liaison VACANT


Role Name
Student Government Association Rep VACANT

Meeting Times

Thursdays, twice a month, 2:30 - 4 PM

Last Meeting

Curriculum Committee Meeting - April 27th, 2018 Supporting Documents: