Curriculum Committee

About the Committee

Goals

  1. Provide the knowledge and training necessary to accomplish the approval and renewal of curriculum.
    • Linked to Academic Senate Goals 1, 2, 3, 4
    • Linked to BC Strategic Goals 1, 2, 4, 5, 6
  2. Address process issues that are impeding the approval and renewal of curriculum.
    • Linked to Academic Senate Goals 1, 2, 3, 4
    • Linked to BC Strategic Goals 1, 2, 4, 5, 6
  3. Address technological (i.e., CurricUNET) issues that are impeding the approval and renewal of curriculum.
    • Linked to Academic Senate Goals 1, 2, 3, 4
    • Linked to BC Strategic Goals 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Role/Purpose

To ensure that the curriculum is consistent with the mission of the college, address the needs of students and the community, and meet the requirements of laws and regulations. The curriculum includes programs of study as well as individual courses. It must support strong transfer and vocational programs and include a strong general education program as the foundation upon which students will build.

Charge

The Curriculum Committee is a standing governance committee that functions as a vital subcommittee of the Senate. The primary purpose of the of this committee is to ensure that curriculum is consistent with the mission of the college, addresses the needs of students and the community, and meets the requirements of law and regulation. Curriculum includes programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses. As such, it must support strong transfer and vocational programs and include a strong general education program as the foundation upon which students will build.

Committee Tasks

  1. Oversees origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum, including all elements of both programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses in an ongoing systematic review process.
  2. Independently evaluates requests for prerequisites and advisories in accordance with Title 5 regulation.
  3. Independently evaluates requests for Distant Education in accordance with Title 5 regulation.
  4. Evaluates requests for General Education and articulation.
  5. Develops and implements procedures to assure an effective means of facilitating the curriculum review process while adhering to the requirements of law and regulation.

Scope

Faculty has primary responsibility for the origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum in accordance with the mission of the college. In accordance with the requirements of the Brown Act, all Curriculum Committee agendas will be publicly posted 72 hours prior to regularly scheduled meetings. Recommendations for approved curriculum will be forwarded to the Kern Community College District Board of Trustees. Curriculum approved by the Board of Trustees will be forwarded to California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office.

Other Information

This committee communicates with:

* Communicates regular updates through the CurricUNET website, maintaining clear communication channels with the college community.


 

Members

Chairs

Name Email
Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg ngomez@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Billie Jo Rice brice@bakersfieldcollege.edu
John Carpenter jcarpent@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Members

Department Name Email
Administrator Liz Rozell mrozell@bakersfieldcollege.edu>
Administrator Sue Vaughn/Michelle Pena svaughn@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Articulation Officer Bill Jo Rice brice@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Assessment Co-chair John Carpenter jcarpent@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Adjunct Representative Cari Meyer cmeyer@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Academic Development Kimberly Bligh kvan@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Agriculture Lindsay Ono lono@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Allied Health Kathy Harifield khairfie@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Art Emily Maddigan emaddiga@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Behavioral Science John Carpenter jcarpent@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Biological Sciences Leslie Reiman lreiman@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Business Mgt/Info. Tech. Creighton Majers cmagers@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Communications Mark Staller mstaller@bakersfieldcollege.edu
English Paula Parks pparks@bakersfieldcollege.edu
English for Multicultural Students Elizabeth Rodacker erodacke@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Family & Consumer Education Brenda Nyagwachi bnyagwac@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Fire Technology Tim Capehart tcapehar@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Foreign Language/ASL Qiu Jiminez yqiu@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Health & Physical Education Carl Dean/Brent Damron cdean@bakersfieldcollege.edu/a>
Library Mindy Wilmot mwilmot@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Mathematics Carol Smith csmith@bak.rr.com
Nursing Jennifer Johnson jlwilson@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Performing Arts Vacant  
Philosophy Moya Arthur marthur@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Physical Science Mike Daniel mdaniel@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Social Science Mike Harvath mharvath@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Student Government Association Megan Lonsinger  
Student Services Victor Diaz vdiaz@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Member-at-large Marisa Marquez  
Member-at-large Nick Strobel nstrobel@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Member-at-large Angelica Vasquez  

Files & Documents

Content Review

AD-T/C-ID

Meeting Times

Thursdays, twice a month, 2:30-4 p.m. Ext. 4068

Last Meeting

Curriculum Committee Meeting - November 13th, 2014

Resources