Scholarship Committee

15 members of the committee.

About the Committee


The Bakersfield College Scholarship Committee (BCSC) is responsible for overseeing the review and selection of recipients for approximately 60 annual scholarships assigned by the BC Foundation and its donors. The BCSC is committed to the timely and fair selection of recipients eligible for scholarships that fall under their purview. The BCSC works in collaboration with the BC Financial Aid Office and BC Foundation to promote the awareness of the scholarship program and provide input in the planning of the annual Honors Celebration.

The Scholarship Committee Charge document was reviewed and approved on November 2, 2018.


Info! Clicking the link opens and closes this section.
Scope of Authority

SC membership is responsible for the annual review of scholarship applications, the promotion of scholarships in general, and contributing to the planning of the annual honor celebration.


Reports To

BC Office of Financial Aid (via Director of Financial Aid and Scholarship Manager) and the BC Foundation (via Foundation representative), and Academic Senate.


Communicates With

Academic Senate, College Council, Vice President of Student Affairs



Chairs: Financial Aid Director, 1 Faculty

1. Foundation Director, BC Scholarship Manager
2. 15 Faculty Representatives at minimum, with one from the Delano Campus
3. 1 Classified Representative




Role Name
Administrative Co-Chair Jennifer Achan
Faculty Co-Chair Rebecca Monks

Foundation & Financial Aid

Role Name
Foundation Executive Director Cheryl Scott (or designee)
Financial Aid Scholarship Manager Amanda Stone


Role Name
Counseling Antonio Alfaro
English Savannah Andrasian
Social Science Richard Bolar
Nursing Sandy Davis
Physical Science Wade Ellis
Behavioral Science Christie Howell
Counseling Ryan Huynh
Behavioral Science Ginger LeBlanc
Physical Science Julie Lowe
Counseling Veronica Lucas (Delano Rep)
Counseling Laurel Mourtzanos
FACE Lily Pimentel Stratton
Physical Science Anna Plett
Physical Science Timothy Plett
Behavioral Science David Rohac
English Alicia Skipper
Physical Science Brent Wilson


Role Name
Committee Member Luz Maria Mendoza


Meeting Times

Twice per academic year (Fall and Spring)

Last Meeting

Scholarship Committee Meeting - January 31st, 2022