Accessibility and ADA Task Force

About the Committee

Charge

The Accessibility Task Force is a 2-year effort that functions as a task force of the entire campus community. The primary purpose of this task force is to:

  • Generate awareness of accessibility and accommodations-related regulations, professional development opportunities, and efforts.
  • Create a Bakersfield College-based Accessibility Plan
  • Make recommendations to Academic Senate, Administration, and District.
  • Conduct an annual accessibility and ADA climate survey
  • Review and ensure implementation of recommendations from Accessibility Report for Kern Community
    College District.

The Accessibility and ADA Task Force Charge document was reviewed and approved on April 22, 2022.

Info! Clicking the link opens and closes this section.
Scope of Authority

The Accessibility Task Force serves as a recommending body to the Academic Senate and college administration on matters pertaining to accessibility and accommodations.

Membership
  • Co chaired by one administrative representative, one classified representative, and one faculty representative.
  • 1 - Dean of Instruction
  • 1 - Management Representative
  • 11 - Faculty REpresentatives
  • 7 - Classified Representatives
  • 1 - SGA Representative
Non-voting Membership
  • 1 Classified - Welcome Center
  • 1 Classified - Admission and Records
  • 1 Classified - Media Services

(Preferred membership includes but is not limited to representatives from the offices of DSPS, Academic Technology, Marketing & Public Relations, and the SGA).

Members

Chairs

Classification Name Email
Administrative Imelda Valdez imelda.valdez@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Classified Representative TBD  
Faculty Matthew Andrasian-Jones matt.jones@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Membership

Classification Name Email
Classified Michelle Begendik mbegendi@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Classified Christopher Glaser christopher.glaser@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Classified Aricia Leighton aricia.leighton@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Classified Vacant  
Classified Vacant  
Classified Vacant  
Classified Vacant  
Dean of Instruction Vacant  
Faculty Antonio Alfaro analfaro@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Andrea Thorson athorson@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Elvira Martinez elmartin@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Christine Cruz Boone ccruzboo@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Sondra Keckley sondra.keckley@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Sylvia Reyes sylvia.reyes@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Mark Osdale mark.osdale@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty Sarah Geiger sarah.geiger@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Faculty vacant  
Faculty vacant  
Faculty vacant  
Management Tiffany Bell tiffany.bell@bakersfieldcollege.edu
SGA Vacant  

Non-Voting Members

Title Name Email
Program Manager, DSPS Katrina Marquez katrina.marquez@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Classified - Welcome Center Vacant  
Classified - Admissions & Records Vacant  
Classified - Media Services Vacant  

Meeting Times

Second Friday 11 AM - Noon

Next Meeting

Accessibility and ADA Task Force Meeting - February 10th, 2023

Last Meeting

Accessibility and ADA Task Force Meeting - December 6th, 2022

Documents

AttachmentSize
PDF icon 508 vs 504 Access for All122.67 KB